A minor bit of serious AFK there.  Regular postings will resume tomorrow: just some brief snippets for the moment…

The big news of the week appears to have been the announcement of D+D 4.0 at GenCon.  As a long-time pen-and-paper gamer, I was interested in the details, of course.  I like some of what I’m seeing, but the devil will be in the details.  In essence, a lot of what they are talking about has, until now, been handled by secondary markets: character portraits and art, mapmaking software, discussion forums, online RPG play, and so on.  The game system itself doesn’t appear, from first impressions, to be changing much (and it really doesn’t need to, IMO.)

It will be interesting to see how it goes.  Bundling all of this, game materials, information resources, periodicals, and other software/services into a unifed package seems a new way of marketing the basic product… it will be interesting to see how well it does.

By the way, do you guys prefer links that open new windows, or remain in the same window?  I just automatically right click these days to open in new window… but I thought it would be polite to ask if there is any preference amongst my readers.

A little more linkage…

SUWT #7 is up… Darren and Adele always do a great job.  (Now to find time to listen to it myself…)  While you’re at it, support VirginWorlds and feed your gaming habit simultaneously by ordering the games and gear you know you’re going to buy anyway via the new VW store

A good post at MMOment of Zen on MMO combat paradigms that I just noticed.  Echoes my own feelings on the subject exactly.

Well, I guess I’d better get to the office… 13 voicemails, 20 separate (non-spam) email requests… and counting… 🙂