Kinda tied up on various things at the moment, so my posting will be sporadic over the next couple weeks, I imagine.  I am actually working on some stuff that might be of interest to a few of you, behind the scenes, but none of it is even close to ready to display for comment.  My guess is that my trip to Austin GDC will signal the next explosion of new posts…

A few things I’ve run across that I’ve wanted to highlight…

The art and setting of this Bioshock game really grabs me, for some reason.  I’m not big on FPS games, but I’ll probably end up getting this one.  (First encountered at Penny-Arcade.)

Kendricke has a great post reflecting on the imminent closing of a Twin Cities gaming icon, Phoenix Games.  I was making 80-mile pilgrimages to this place in the early/mid 80s to buy my RPG rulebooks: it was The Place To Go.  

I remember a bunch of us got together in the mid 90s and had a good laugh at the looks we got after walking in during a CCG tournament, the “who are these old &%$#&s?” stare.  It was just so much like we used to stare at the old grognards (wargamers) when our pastime was the gaming-hobby-du-jour, freaking hilarious…

A lot of good memories tied into that business/building.  It will be missed.

Psychochild’s Weekend Challenge is another good one (as usual)… online RPG innovations, anyone?  I will submit my Detective/Mystery MMO idea as an idea for consideration…

If you’re feeling a little retro, the Rampant Coyote has come across a new, free 3D RPG maker/engine called, appropriately enough, Dungeon Maker.  Think Dungeon Master and/or Wizardry style displays.  Details in this post.

That all for the moment, I guess…

