I was tagged for this meme by the good Boon over at MMOCritic, and thus, here is my response…

1.  The Voice in the Wilderness: to simply express my desires (and disappointments).

I’ve been at this RP gaming thing for a while, and involved very deeply (as a participant) to boot.  RP gaming, in all it’s forms, is a burning interest of mine, and has been for nearly 30 years.  There are things I want to see done (even if they were to fail commercially) that I would love to be a part of experimenting with… this is one way to start advocating for those concepts.

2.  Documenting the rambles: to “talk through” ideas

When I am not quite so swamped by “real world” projects and concerns, my mind is continually flitting back and forth over ideas for these types of games, on topics ranging from the fanciful to the mundane.  Many an early morning and late night has been spent pacing back and forth in my living room, muttering and gesturing as I work through the fascinating-idea-of-the-moment, noting limitations and exploits, adding provisos, etc.  I’m sure, were someone watching, they would think I had gone insane.  This blog is a way to simply document some of the results of all that mumbling and gesticulating to an empty room…

3.  Wallflowers-R-us: to be a small part of the conversation

I have long lurked at the edges of these types of communities: I read the lumthemad.net posts and boards religiously back in the day, I’ve posted at various gaming (mmorpg.com, mpogd.net) sites over years, lurked on the mud-dev mailing list, and so on.  I simply felt an urge to be more an active part of the conversation, even if in a minor way.

4.  Five Seconds of Infamy: to start becoming a “known” entity

Eventually, I’d like to participate directly in this industry in some way… my combination of temperament, skills, and experiences means such participation is likely to be as an independent dev or with a small indie firm like Last Straw, but I want to at least make some rudimentary preparations in case a position was to become available in the big name companies that I had a burning interest in.  Psychochild did me the honor of actually recognizing my blog name and talking with me for a bit at IMGDC… that, in itself, has made this blogging effort worthwhile.

5.  Echoes of the Past: reminding people that D+D was not the only RPG.

A lot of the topics and memes that rebound through the blogs on occasion are hardly new.  There were discussions about the viability of permadeath, gimped character classes, the hassles of food and encumbrance, etc. in the Letters pages of Dragon magazine back when the “net” was mainly composed of a series of 300 baud modems deep in the bowels of university research labs and military installations.  This blog also is meant to serve as a reminder of the questions that were once asked, and to sound a note of caution that occasionally the answers they found then, and incorporated into their rules and core philosophies from then on, are not always 100% compatible to the vastly different venue we discuss today…

As for continuing the chain, I’ve never been comfortable with tagging people with these things… I’m not gregarious enough to know who would enjoy it vs. whom would be annoyed.  I’ll leave that task for others of greater insight and/or thicker skin… let’s do it this way: anyone that wants to participate, please feel free, and let me know so I can link to the results.  My definite thanks to Boon at MMOCritic for giving me the impetus, however.