Blogging. This should be interesting…

I’ve been lurking around the MMO-related internet for quite some time now, dropping the odd comment here or there at various boards, blogs, and commentary sites, but never really gotten serious in terms of writing about my own perspectives in detail. I’m hoping to use this as a platform to join the ongoing discussions in a more meaningful way.

So who am I?

I’m a 40+ year old programmer from the sometimes wintry realm of Minnesota. I am a founding partner of a small business (~$2M annual gross revenue) building and servicing custom IVR (Interactive Voice Response) systems. I work for said company as a developer, and occasionally wear the CFO hat as well.

I wrote my first program as a 2nd grader on a teletype over a 300-baud modem, and knew right then what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. (So far, so good…)

Gaming has been the other passion of my life, at least since my 8th grade year. A friend in computer club got the Basic D&D Blue Box for Christmas that year, and invited a bunch of us over to play. Thousands of hours of gaming later… well, here I am.

More later…