Edit: added to the list of mentions below.  If I’ve overlooked anyone else, my apologies… tho, I did warn everyone this gregariousness-thing isn’t my cup o’ tea, right? :-)

Yep, it’s been an entire year since I started this little endeavor.  Time flies…

It has been an interesting year, to say the least.  I have some 11612 hits counted as of this morning, which is about 10000 more than I expected given my rather esoteric subject matter :-).  Thank you to everyone who has ever stopped by, and I hope I can continue to offer items of occasional interest, such that you will continue to consider me worth a little of your time and attention.

-=-

Being a bit of a stats geek like many in our particular corner of the blogosphere, I did up a little graph of the blog activity over the past year.  I was pleasantly surprised to see that the number of hits has vaguely tracked with number of posts over the past 6 months… hopefully that indicates that I am posting topics of interest (it’s not all web searches hitting year-old content…)

Year One Hits and Posts

Even more gratifying has been the number of people who have taken the time to leave comments, however.   I know how difficult it can be to find the time and impetus to do so, even in brief.  My thanks to each and every one of you for taking the time: gaining insight through reading your perspectives on the topics is what really makes blogging worth the effort, in my opinion.  (And with that in mind, I resolve to do a better job of reciprocating in the future.)

The blog has also been indirectly responsible for many opportunities to meet and chat (at least briefly) with a bunch of great people that I might never have met (or even known about) otherwise, both local and remote.  Locally, there’s been Brent (Virgin Worlds), Michael Zenke (MMOG Nation and a virtual host of other places :-) ), Cameron (Random Battle), Tami Baribeau (CuppycakeMetaplace), Jonathon Stevens (Last Straw Productions, IMGDC), Erik Hyrkas (Granite Games), and Ken aka Kendricke (Clockwork Gamer) (edit: and let me add mention of Ethic of Kill Ten Rats, who is a Minnesota native as well… I do apologize, it was a memorable meeting, there were just so many…)  Further afield, there’s been Aaron (Anyway Games), Brian Green (Psychochild), Ophelea (GamersInfo.net), and Serafina (Atriarch)… and that’s just off the top of my head.  (For an introvert like me, that’s an amazing list.)

Add to that the guest stint on Darren’s (Common Sense Gamer) SUWT podcast, and it’s been quite a year.

-=-

That’s enough about the past, tho.  I do actually have blog-related plans for the future, as well.  I would like to resume adding to the RPG Archive series of posts, for example, tho it won’t be weekly… to do even the rudimentary summaries I have been is about a 2 hour process, which is more time than I can regularly spend.  However, biweekly or monthly should be quite possible…

There will be more dream design stuff coming down the pike eventually, including requests for ideas and feedback.  I always get some great stuff from you guys in those posts… again, thank you.

I want to do a better job of highlighting other similar blogs, somehow.  The tools to do so in vanilla hosted wordpress are rather limited, however, so I have started to take the steps necessary to move to my own server and domain.  No guarantees on when I will actually take the plunge, tho.

To prevent old posts from going completely down the memory hole, I’m going to start a semi-regular (and very brief) recap of what I was rambling on about the previous year at that time.  Recycling is good, right?

AGDC and IMGDC are both on the schedule for the coming year as far as conferences go, and if I can swing the time away from the office, maybe one or two others.  I do have to figure out a way to do a better job of actually reporting on the experience, tho.

Overall, however, not much is likely to change… the same old ruminating and ranting as the mood grabs me.  Some seem to have found it entertaining (a definite plus)… why fix it if it ain’t broke?

Again, my thanks to all who visit, whether briefly or in depth.  I do appreciate it… and I do hope to meet more of you in person over the next year.

