I kinda “geeked out” this weekend, which is one of several reasons why the blog has been neglected the past few days (sorry).  As I mentioned a few weeks back, I downloaded the  XNA release to play with.  Hadn’t had much chance to really dive in until just this past Saturday, tho.  I’d done a little playing around with the textures and the like, but an hour at a time just doesn’t let you get very far.

This weekend, I kind of just dived in and lost myself.  Too much fun… and yes, I’m a geek.

Still didn’t get a lot done that I can actually show.  A fair amount of back end server code; wasted a fair amount of time trying to track down why I couldn’t just add a freaking webbrowser control to the project (RTFM: it requires an STA thread); created a bunch of “control” classes under XNA that I could have used standard Windows Forms controls for, but that wouldn’t have been nearly as much fun; rearranged the object model for my client app two or three times (and I still don’t like it)… good stuff.

A few screenshots, just because I want to… nothing amazing here, I’m afraid.  Remember, my artistic abilities rank somewhere around that of a blind paralyzed marmoset.

Voyages Screenshot 1

A basic “choose a location” screen.  Map was an old one out of  Campaign Cartographer (version 2).  You can click and drag the map around to see other portions of it: not sure that’s the best control scheme, since you also click on the map to select areas, but I wanted to do the click and drag thing (basically, just to say I could).  Only 3 hotspots defined so far, and lots of stuff would need to be added to make it useful obviously.  As you can probably tell, I’m definitely in a “retro” RPG mood at the moment.

Voyages Screen 2

The foundation of a “choose your stats” page.  Obviously retro, again.  This was essentially to test my hotspots implementation, status bar manipulation, and my “lite button” class.  I’ve largely got them working as I expect them to.

Voyages Screen 3

I had a fair amount of this done from prior efforts, but a fair amount of the time spent revolved around clean-up on this screen. 

Yes, still very retro.  Tile-based with an isometric view.  Lighting and view restriction are tile-based as well.  Pretty simple stuff, really.  Still a couple of glitches in a few spots where the drawing order needs to be modified… the outstretched sword will look like it’s sticking into the wall, the light value used for a sprite is based on the wrong tile coords, that kind of thing.  Movement is smooth and works fairly well, really, with both floor and walls being clipped/sliced smoothly.  I’ve got the chat working via the server, and the lone NPC wanders around randomly based on directives from the server as well.

Not too bad for a weekend’s worth of play, if I do say so myself.  Not much of general interest, I suppose… but I felt like sharing. :-)

